Staff & Board

Staff & Board 2019-11-12T16:36:52-05:00

OUMA Staff:

elizabeth-peterson

Elizabeth Peterson
Museum Director
404-364-8559
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

john-tilford

John Daniel Tilford
Curator of Collections
404-364-8552
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OUMA Art Advisory Board:

D. Peter Drotman, M.D., M.P.H.
Editor-in-Chief, Emerging Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
pdrotman@cdc.gov
Joined the board in 2011

Robert Gaynes, M.D.
Distinguished Physician and Professor, Emory University School of Medicine
rgaynes@emory.edu
Joined the board in 2016

 Karen Head, Ph.D., Chair of the Art Advisory Board
Executive Director, The Naugle Communication Center 
Associate Chair & Associate Professor, School of Literature, Media, and Communication
Editor, Atlanta Review
Immediate Past Editor, Southern Discourse in the Center: A Journal of Multiliteracy and Innovation 
The Georgia Institute of Technology 
khead@gatech.edu
Joined the board in 2016

Morris M. Herzberg
Financial Consultant, Certified Financial Planner CFP, J.D, Wells Fargo Advisors
morris.herzberg@wfadvisors.com
Joined the board in 2010

Larry Johnson*
President, GA Bldg Maintenance Services Inc.
LLJ4Johnson@aol.com
Joined the board in 2011

Andjela Kessler
President, Incentive Travel and Meeting
andjelakessler@usaitm.com
Joined the board in 2011

David M. Leonard*
Attorney, Carlton Fields
dleonard@carltonfields.com
Joined the board in 2011

Jay Lutz, Ph.D.
Professor of French, Frances I. Eeraerts ’76 Professor of Foreign Language
Oglethorpe University
jlutz@Oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2010

Karen Schmeichel, Ph.D., Secretary of the Art Advisory Board
Professor of Biology (Division Chair)
Oglethorpe University
kschmeichel@Oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2011

Salaam Semaan, M.P.H., Dr.Ph.
Deputy Associate Director for Science (Health Scientist)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
ssemann@cdc.gov
Joined the board in 2014

William Shropshire, Ph.D.*
Emeritus Professor of Economics
Oglethorpe University
woshrop@gmail.com
Joined the board in 2011

Samuel G. Traxler ’17
Financial Advisory, Holton Pittman Group
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc.
Samuel.Traxler@SunTrust.com
Joined the board in 2018

Sheila Tschinkel, Treasurer of the Art Advisory Board
Visiting Scholar, Economics Department
Emory University
stschinkel@gmail.com
Joined the board in 2013

Ex Officio:

Elizabeth Peterson, Director of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Museum Studies; Art & Culture), Compass Academic Advisor
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

Glenn Sharfman, Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
gsharfman@oglethorpe.edu

John Daniel Tilford, Curator of Collections of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Curatorial Practice)
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OU Student Representatives:

Glenn Kaiser’20, President
OU Student Government Association (SGA)
ekaiser@oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2019

Taylor Roberts, Mellon Curatorial Fellow, High Museum of Art
troberts@oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2018

*Member of the Oglethorpe University Board of Trustees

Gift Shop Discount

Visit us Dec 3 – 15 for 10% off any gift shop purchase! Members take 20% off!