Staff & Board

Staff & Board 2023-03-02T12:22:55-05:00

OUMA Staff

Elizabeth Peterson
Museum Director
[email protected]

Druonna Collier

Druonna Collier
Museum Assistant Collections Manager
Registrar of OUMA
[email protected]


John Daniel Tilford
Curator of Collections
[email protected]

OUMA Advisory Board 2022-2023:

Emmanuel Brantley ’15 (2021)
Director of Communications for Councilmembers, The Council of the District of Columbia

D. Peter Drotman, M.D., M.P.H. (2011)
Editor-in-Chief, Emerging Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Ariana Feiner (2021)
Children’s Book Author, Filmmaker, Disability Rights Advocate

Robert Gaynes, M.D. (2016)
Distinguished Physician and Professor
Emory University School of Medicine

Ashrakat Hassan ’24, Student Representative (2022)
Student Government Association, President

Karen Head, Ph.D., Chair (2016)
Professor in the Department of English and Technical Communication,
Arts & Innovation Director, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Reshmi J. Hebbar, Ph.D., faculty representative (2021)
Associate Professor of English, Oglethorpe University

Morris M. Herzberg, CFP® (2010)
Retired, Financial Consultant, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER ™
Wells Fargo Advisors

Dennis Kelly (2020)
Retired, Inaugural Dean of the Q. William Hammack School of Business at Oglethorpe University
Former Interim Director of Smithsonian Enterprises
Director Emeritus of the National Zoological Park and Conservation Biology Institute
Former President and CEO of Zoo Atlanta
Former executive with the Coca-Cola company

Ellen Kierr Stein (2020)
Civic Leader in Atlanta and Sandy Springs
Former Residential Real Estate Broker, 1994-2016

Jay Lutz, Ph.D. (2010)
Professor of French, Frances I. Eeraerts ’76, Professor of Foreign Language at Oglethorpe University

Aixa M. Pascual (2020)
Managing Director of Advocacy, Civic Outreach & Cultural Engagement
Latin American Association, Brookhaven

William Shropshire, Ph.D.* (2011)
Emeritus Professor of Economics
Oglethorpe University

Sheila Tschinkel, Treasurer (2013)
Visiting Scholar, Economics Department
Emory University

Andrew Walden, Ph.D., faculty representative (2021)
Assistant Professor of Organic Chemistry, Oglethorpe University

Hugh F. Williams Jr. (2020)
Retired, Senior Foreign Service for the US Department of State
Former Diplomat in Residence, Florida A&M, Morehouse and Spelman

Ex Officio:

Elizabeth H. Peterson
Director of OUMA, Adjunct Professor, OUtlet Advisor, Member of the Brookhaven Arts & Culture Commission
[email protected]

Kathryn McClymond, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Oglethorpe University
[email protected]

John Daniel Tilford
Curator of Collections of OUMA
Adjunct Professor, Oglethorpe University
Member of the Atlanta Membership Roundtable, and the Ceramics Circle of Atlanta
[email protected]

OUMA Student Diversity Subcommittee for 2022-2023:

Katie Cutts ’24
Ashrakat Hassan ’24
Sydney Jones ’24
Sophia Sobrino ’25
Christina Abdullah ’24
Maria Coles ’24
Gloria Okwueze ’25

*Member of the Oglethorpe University Board of Trustees