Staff & Board

Staff & Board 2020-10-15T15:55:52-04:00

OUMA Staff:

elizabeth-peterson

Elizabeth Peterson
Museum Director
404-364-8559
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

john-tilford

John Daniel Tilford
Curator of Collections
404-364-8552
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OUMA Advisory Board 2020-2021:

René Alvarez (2020)
Director of Academic Success and Advising,
Oglethorpe University
ralvarez@oglethorpe.edu

D. Peter Drotman, M.D., M.P.H. (2011)
Editor-in-Chief, Emerging Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
pdrotman@cdc.gov

Robert Gaynes, M.D. (2016)
Distinguished Physician and Professor
Emory University School of Medicine
rgaynes@emory.edu

 Karen Head, Ph.D., Chair of the Art Advisory Board (2016)
Executive Director, The Naugle Communication Center 
Associate Chair & Associate Professor, School of Literature, Media, and Communication
Editor, Atlanta Review
Immediate Past Editor, Southern Discourse in the Center: A Journal of Multiliteracy and Innovation 
The Georgia Institute of Technology 
khead@gatech.edu

Morris M. Herzberg, CFP® (2010)
Financial Consultant, Certified Financial Planner CFP, J.D,
Wells Fargo Advisors
morris.herzberg@wfadvisors.com

Dennis Kelly (2020)
Retired, inaugural Dean of the Q. William Hammack School of Business,
Oglethorpe University, Former Interim Director of Smithsonian Enterprises; Director Emeritus of
the National Zoological Park and Conservation Biology Institute; Former President and CEO of Zoo Atlanta; Former executive with the Coca-Cola company
denniskelly@mindspring.com

Ellen Kier Stein (2020)
Civic Leader in Atlanta and Sandy Springs
Former Residential Real Estate Broker, 1994-2016
ellen.k.stein@gmail.com

Jay Lutz, Ph.D. (2010)
Professor of French, Frances I. Eeraerts ’76, Professor of Foreign Language
Oglethorpe University
jlutz@Oglethorpe.edu

Aixa M. Pascual (2020)
Managing Director of Advocacy, Civic Outreach & Cultural Engagement
Latin American Association, Brookhaven
APascual@thelaa.org

Karen Schmeichel, Ph.D., Secretary of the Art Advisory Board (2011)
Professor of Biology (Division Chair)
Oglethorpe University
kschmeichel@Oglethorpe.edu

William Shropshire, Ph.D.* (2011)
Emeritus Professor of Economics
Oglethorpe University
woshrop@gmail.com

LeKeith Taylor (2020)
Senior Vice President, Innocation & Impact (Porter Novelli)
Founder, The Artful Journey Project; Former Chief Marketing and Brand Officer
for the Gathering Spot
collab@tayloredbylekeith.com

Sheila Tschinkel, Treasurer of the Art Advisory Board (2013)
Visiting Scholar, Economics Department
Emory University
stschinkel@gmail.com

Hugh F. Williams Jr. (2020)
Retired, Senior Foreign Service for the US Department of State
Former Diplomat in Residence, Florida A&M, Morehouse and Spelman
hmmtwilliams@aol.com

Ex Officio:

Elizabeth Peterson, Director of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Museum Studies; Art & Culture), Compass Academic Advisor
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

Glenn Sharfman, Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
gsharfman@oglethorpe.edu

John Daniel Tilford, Curator of Collections of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Curatorial Practice)
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OU Student Representatives:

Taylor Roberts ’21 (2018)
President, OU Student Government Association (SGA)
troberts@oglethorpe.edu

Hayleigh Stonham ’22 (2020)
Inter-Club Council Representative of the OU History Club
hstonham@oglethorpe.edu

 

OUMA Student Diversity Subcommittee for 2020-2021:

Nryee Dowdy ’21
Lidia Labrada ’23
Clara Grimaldo ’21
Ashrakat Hassan ’24
Taylor Roberts ’21
Hayleigh Stonham ’22
David Swillum ’21

*Member of the Oglethorpe University Board of Trustees

UPDATE

OUMA is currently closed for in-person visits due to campus restrictions. Please visit the news page for to stay informed about upcoming virtual programming!

OUMA is participating in Smithsonian magazine's Museum Day 2019 with free admission and special hours.

Visit OUMA Saturday, September 20 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.