Staff & Board

Staff & Board 2020-09-24T15:57:43-04:00

OUMA Staff:

elizabeth-peterson

Elizabeth Peterson
Museum Director
404-364-8559
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

john-tilford

John Daniel Tilford
Curator of Collections
404-364-8552
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OUMA Art Advisory Board:

D. Peter Drotman, M.D., M.P.H.
Editor-in-Chief, Emerging Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
pdrotman@cdc.gov
Joined the board in 2011

Robert Gaynes, M.D.
Distinguished Physician and Professor, Emory University School of Medicine
rgaynes@emory.edu
Joined the board in 2016

 Karen Head, Ph.D., Chair of the Art Advisory Board
Executive Director, The Naugle Communication Center 
Associate Chair & Associate Professor, School of Literature, Media, and Communication
Editor, Atlanta Review
Immediate Past Editor, Southern Discourse in the Center: A Journal of Multiliteracy and Innovation 
The Georgia Institute of Technology 
khead@gatech.edu
Joined the board in 2016

Morris M. Herzberg, CFP®
Financial Consultant, Wells Fargo Advisors
morris.herzberg@wfadvisors.com
Joined the board in 2010

Ellen Kier Stein
Civic Leader in Atlanta and Sandy Springs
Former Residential Real Estate Broker, 1994-2016
ellen.k.stein@gmail.com
Joined the board in 2020

Jay Lutz, Ph.D.
Professor of French, Frances I. Eeraerts ’76 Professor of Foreign Language
Oglethorpe University
jlutz@Oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2010

Aixa M. Pascual
Managing Director of Advocacy, Civic Outreach & Cultural Engagement
Latin American Association, Brookhaven
APascual@thelaa.org
Joined the board in 2020

Karen Schmeichel, Ph.D., Secretary of the Art Advisory Board
Professor of Biology (Division Chair)
Oglethorpe University
kschmeichel@Oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2011

William Shropshire, Ph.D.*
Emeritus Professor of Economics
Oglethorpe University
woshrop@gmail.com
Joined the board in 2011

Sheila Tschinkel, Treasurer of the Art Advisory Board
Visiting Scholar, Economics Department
Emory University
stschinkel@gmail.com
Joined the board in 2013

Ex Officio:

Elizabeth Peterson, Director of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Museum Studies; Art & Culture), Compass Academic Advisor
epeterson1@oglethorpe.edu

Glenn Sharfman, Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
gsharfman@oglethorpe.edu

John Daniel Tilford, Curator of Collections of OUMA, Adjunct Professor (Curatorial Practice)
jtilford@oglethorpe.edu

OU Student Representatives:

Glenn Kaiser’20, President
OU Student Government Association (SGA)
ekaiser@oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2019

Taylor Roberts, Mellon Curatorial Fellow, High Museum of Art
troberts@oglethorpe.edu
Joined the board in 2018

*Member of the Oglethorpe University Board of Trustees

UPDATE

OUMA is currently closed for in-person visits due to campus restrictions. Please visit the news page for to stay informed about upcoming virtual programming!

OUMA is participating in Smithsonian magazine's Museum Day 2019 with free admission and special hours.

Visit OUMA Saturday, September 20 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.